top of page

Autumn School on Correlated Electrons. DMFT: From Infinite Dimensions to Real Materials

September 17 – September 21, 2018


Forschungszentrum Jülich, Germany


  • Eva Pavarini- Forschungszentrum Jülich

  • Erik Koch- Forschungszentrum Jülich



Since the beginning of quantum mechanics, emergent many-body phenomena represent the grand-challenge in theoretical condensed-matter physics. Indeed, static mean-field approaches fail to capture even the simplest many-body effects, while diagrammatic techniques generally fail in the regime characteristic of strong correlations. The introduction of dynamical mean-field theory (DMFT) has revolutionized this field. Two insights paved the way to this paradigm shift. The first is that in the limit of infinite dimensions all contributions to the self-energy become local. The second is that the locality of the self-energy makes it possible to build a new type of mean-field theory, dynamical in nature, by mapping a correlated lattice problem onto a self-consistent quantum-impurity model. In the last decades, thanks to advances in model building combined with the development of flexible and numerically exact quantum-impurity solvers, DMFT was successfully linked with ab-initio density-functional techniques, making it the method of choice for the investigation of correlated electron materials.

This year's school will cover the most important aspects of the DMFT approach to real materials. Lectures will range from the basics to advanced topics, covering the DFT+DMFT method, non-local extensions of DMFT, advanced quantum impurity solvers, the calculation of dynamical response functions, and the description of correlation effects out of equilibrium.

The goal of the school is to introduce advanced graduate students and up to this modern method for the realistic modeling of strongly correlated matter.



Ole Andersen, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart

Ferdi Aryasetiawan, Lund University

Fakher Assaad, Universität Würzburg

Martin Eckstein, Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

Hans Gerd Evertz, TU Graz

Hartmut Hafermann, Huawei Technologies France

Karsten Held, TU Wien

Erik Koch, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Marcus Kollar, Universität Augsburg

Frank Lechermann, Universität Hamburg

Alexander Lichtenstein, Universität Hamburg

Thomas Maier, Oak-Ridge National Laboratory

Eva Pavarini, Forschungszentrum Jülich

Michael Potthoff, Universität Hamburg

Hao Tjeng, Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Physik fester Stoffe, Dresden

Dieter Vollhardt, Universität Augsburg

bottom of page