top of page

Autumn School on Correlated Electrons: DMFT at 25: Infinite Dimensions (6103)

September 15, 2014 – September 19, 2014


Jülich, Germany

Eva Pavarini, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Erik Koch, Forschungszentrum Jülich
Dieter Vollhardt, University of Augsburg
Alexander Lichtenstein, University of Hamburg


Registration deadline: May 31, 2014



Dynamical mean-field theory (DMFT) has opened new perspectives for dealing with strong electronic correlations and the associated emergent phenomena. This successful method has exploited the experience previously gained with single-impurity models (e.g., the Anderson model) transferring it to many-body lattice problems. The basis for this breakthrough was the realization, 25 years ago, that diagrammatic perturbation theory greatly simplifies in the limit of infinite dimensions, so that the self-energy becomes local. Nowadays DMFT, combined with ab-initio density-functional techniques, is the state-of-the art approach for strongly correlated materials. In this school we will present how DMFT is applied to real systems. Lectures will cover the basics of the method, the LDA+DMFT approach, non-local extensions of DMFT, and impurity solvers. Lectures on photoemission spectroscopy, response functions, and time-dependent phenomena provide the necessary contact to experiments. 

The goal of the school is to introduce advanced graduate students and up to the modern approaches to the realistic modeling of strongly-correlated systems.

      • Fakher Assaad, Universität Würzburg
      • Antoine Georges, École Polytechnique
      • Karsten Held, TU Wien
      • Erik Koch, German Research School for Simulation Sciences, Jülich
      • Marcus Kollar, Universität Augsburg
      • Gabriel Kotliar, Rutgers University
      • Georg Kresse, Universität Wien
      • Alexander Lichtenstein, Universität Hamburg
      • Walter Metzner, Max-Planck-Institut für Festkörperforschung, Stuttgart
      • Jan Minar, LMU München
      • Eva Pavarini, Institute for Advanced Simulation, Forschungszentrum Jülich
      • Michael Potthoff, Universität Hamburg
      • Thomas Pruschke, Universität Göttingen
      • Michael Sing, Universitüt Würzburg
      • Hao Tjeng, Max-Planck-Institut für Chemische Physik fester Stoffe, Dresden
      • Dieter Vollhardt Universität Augsburg
      • Tim Wehling, Universität Bremen

bottom of page