top of page

Big Ideas in Quantum Materials (7814)

December 14, 2015 – December 17, 2015


University of California, San Diego, San Diego, California, USA


Dmitri Basov, University of California, San Diego
Joe Orenstein, University of California, Berkeley
Andrew Mills, University of Columbia


The general area of Quantum Materials encompasses some of the active developments in modern condensed matter physics. This area is broad and includes topics such as superconductivity, correlated electron physics, quantum control and quantum information, low dimensional and topological systems, among other topics. Intense interest in Quantum Materials is dictated by the novel physical phenomena already discovered and/or predicted. Furthermore, these systems are of interest in the context of innovative devices. Progress in the field is occurring at a tremendous pace. 

The objective of this workshop is to survey major unresolved issues and “big ideas” that will set directions for future work. We have succeeded to put together an exciting program with presentations by some of the leading research in the field, covering the full spectrum of problems in the vanguard of Quantum Materials. 

We anticipate having sessions dedicated to:

  • Topological and new states of matter (two sessions)

  • Quantum control and information

  • Graphene and two-dimensional Van der Waals systems

  • Superconductivity

  • Visualization of physical phenomena

  • Non-equilibrium phenomena and measurements under extreme conditions

  • Societal impact of quantum materials.

Invited Speakers/Participants
Confirmed speakers and session chairs:

David Awschalom (Chicago),

Peter Littlewood (Argonne),

Shoucheng Zhang (Stanford),

Bernhard Keimer (MPI Stuttgart),

Seamus Davis (Cornell),

ZX Shen (Stanford),

Nuh Gedik (MIT),

Michael Fogler (UCSD),

Alessandra Lanzara (UCB),

Louis Taillefer (U.Sherbrooke),

Andrey Chubukov (Minnesota),

Vidya Madhavan (UIUC),

Peter Armitage (Johns Hopkins),

Ashvin Vishwanath (UCB),

Abhay Pasupathy (Columbia),

Mikhail Lukin (Harvard),

Michal Lipson (Columbia),

Greg Boebinger (NHMFL),

Meigan Aronson (BNL/Stony Brook),

Amir Yacoby (Harvard),

Margaret Murnane (Colorado),

N. Phuan Ong (Princeton),

Jason Petta (Princeton),

E. Yablonovic (Berkeley),

M. Crommie (UCB),

K. Moller (Stanford),

A.Georges (College de France),

Frank Koppens (Barcelona),

Leon Balents (UCSB),

M.B. Maple (UCSD),

Eva Andrei (Rutgers),

T.Heinz (Stanford),

Francisco Guinea (CSIC, Madrid),

Philip Kim (Harvard).

Thrust Area

Quantum Matter

bottom of page