top of page

The MacDiarmid Institute for Advanced Materials and Nanotechnology


The MacDiarmid Institute’s research focus is materials science and new technology, especially the unexplored territory where chemistry, physics, biology and engineering meet. We collaborate to bring innovations to the marketplace where they can help address the big problems of our time and contribute to the New Zealand economy. Our ultimate aim is to help the transition to a more sustainable way of life.

The MacDiarmid Institute is comprised of researchers from five of New Zealand’s universities - the University of Auckland, Massey University, Victoria University of Wellington, the University of Canterbury and the University of Otago - along with government innovation agency, Callaghan Innovation, and GNS Science, the country’s leading provider of Earth, geoscience and isotope research.

Our home base was opened at Victoria University of Wellington in 2002 and we are one of New Zealand’s oldest Centres of Research Excellence. We have just over 100 current investigators along with our graduate and PhD students.

Further information at

Branch Members

Senior Scientists/Project and Programme Leaders:
• Nicola Gaston
• Justin Hodgkiss
• Pauline Harris
• Paul E Kruger
• Geoff Willmott
• Simon Brown
• Shane Telfer
• Jadranka Travas-Sejdic
• Catherine Whitby
• Jenny Malmström
• Chris Bumby
• Anna Garden
• Geoff Waterhouse
• Aaron Marshall
• Natalie Plank
• Charles Unsworth
• Simon Granville
• James Storey
• Derek Kawiti
• Diane Bradshaw
bottom of page